So far I’ve only succumbed to Western food once, eating out in street vendors and generally trying out more of that lovely Thai cuisine. It’s really easy; that is, if you’re are not too fuzzed about your diet.

Eating in restaurants and guest house bars is easy. It gets more interesting going to one of the kerb-side restaurants, usually involving plastic chairs and stools next to a small vendor cart. And as you move further away from Bangkok, chances are that the menu is in Thai only, making it extra adventurous to feed.

There is a commonly understood sign for asking if a dish is too spicy. I also get the impression that Thais will allow for Westerners and use less, if any, super hot spices. Too bad then, if you mistake a chili for a sun dried tomato. Well, at least it cured the sore throat I had been struggling with for a couple of days.

I’m quite open for new things and keep trying little snacks in the street. The latest were little meat balls that looked like sausages. I asked the lady what it is, but her English was barely enough to say ’10 Baht’, and it was probably for the better. It was something a bit like white haggis, spicy (not hot, though) and actually nowhere near a sausage taste, but quite nice. The night before I had tried fish sticks (round fish balls on a stick).

Thais certainly like their sweets! If a dish is not spicy, it’s probably very sweet containing about a month’s supply of sugar. Again, the combinations are bizarre. The one I tried was something like little sticky nut and sugar balls wrapped up in what was cooked like a crèpe, available in red, blue, green or white dough. All this smothered in coconut milk. Yummy!

So far I haven’t been sick at all (touch wood for me when you read this), except for a quick stint at the toilet a few nights ago. But I suppose that was just a normal adjustment reaction.

All sweet so far!

